Welcome, Anonymous (Profile, Private Messages)
Having trouble signing into the forums? Please [ logout ] and log back in.
 Log inLog in 
SEARCH:     » Advanced Search

Shutterstock Photographer Forum Forum Index : General Shutterstock Submit Discussion :
Advice on how to steal our images / work

 
Post new topic    Reply to topic
Author Message
hospitalera


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 3044
Location: Prague (Czech Republic) http://hospitalera.com

Post Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 4:23 pm     Reply with quote

Have look at this blog post http://www.mediatechblog.org/internet-tips-and-tricks/steps-legally-download-shutterstock-istockphotos-fotolia-copyright-images-photos-free-online

I really 'like' how he uses the word 'legally', I did a bit of digging and the blog is hosted by Hostgator and it is against their TOS to host content like this (basically Warez /illegal). I am in contact with Hostgator as we speak, if you want to give them your opinion about that matter, contact them by whatever means possible to you: http://www.hostgator.com/contact.shtml
mateimiruna


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 730

Post Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 1:01 am     Reply with quote

I read the article and found nothing wrong. Yes, it is perfectly legal to download the preview and make search based on it. The end is a bit confusing as it does not specify that the found files should be free of copyright. As I understand it is not about downloading copyrighted images.
hospitalera


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 3044
Location: Prague (Czech Republic) http://hospitalera.com

Post Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 1:04 am     Reply with quote

Have a look at the title, and guess what he does / suggests to do with the found images that will not have a watermark??? SY
gpphotouk


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 59
Location: www.vimeo.com/picture

Post Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 8:19 am     Reply with quote

Yes, but on the plus side he also lets us know about the

“Top 7 Rated Nigeria Online Banking Banks”.

I feel as if I need to know more about Nigerian banks,

if anyone knows of a friend or relative working for one

could you get them to email me. Thanks.
hospitalera


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 3044
Location: Prague (Czech Republic) http://hospitalera.com

Post Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 8:38 am     Reply with quote

Yes, the whole site of full of stuff like that, he tells you also where you can download a nice new skin for your anti virus program - from a file sharing site no less. I wonder what else you will download there for your anti-virus ...
ianb


Joined: 17 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

Post Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 5:09 am     Reply with quote

... as they are making a joke of Stock Photography. DO SS know about this? They ought to shut them down.
simonjohnsen


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

Post Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 6:07 am     Reply with quote

Great the way they have stock site adverts right in the middle of it too
hospitalera


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 3044
Location: Prague (Czech Republic) http://hospitalera.com

Post Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:01 am     Reply with quote

simonjohnsen wrote:
Great the way they have stock site adverts right in the middle of it too


That are the Google Ads he is displaying in a hope to make money with, they appear automatically based on side content and visitor behavior. SY
 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 


Shutterstock Forum for Contributors