Welcome, Anonymous (Profile, Private Messages)
Having trouble signing into the forums? Please [ logout ] and log back in.
SEARCH:     » Advanced Search

Shutterstock Photographer Forum Forum Index : Footage :
Video Newbie Here -- Please Advise
Page 1, 2  Next

davidcrehner

Post Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:57 pm     Reply with quote

Alright, consider me the biggest video newbie that ever lived. Wife just bought me a Canon Vixia HG20 for my birthday. Is this camera suitable to produce some stock footage if I know what I'm doing?

Where should I start? What should I read? What do I need to know?

I'm a reasonably knowledgeable still photography guy.
Ulrich Willmunder

Post Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:37 pm     Reply with quote

1) Read this. It will show you basically what you camera can do and what it can't. The bit about the manual focus bothers me a bit, but still...

2) Yes, the quality should do for stock, at least to get you started and give you basic working knowledge.

3) Read this forum, all of it. There's a wealth of information here.

4) Since this is a hard disc camcorder, make sure you don't shake it too much. ;-) No actions shots for you.

5) Good lighting will be essential with this one. I know you lighting skills with photography, so all you need to do is apply what you know to moving images.

Good luck and welcome to this crazy side of the show. :)
davidcrehner

Post Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:40 pm     Reply with quote

Okay, run into my first conundrum.

So the HG20 shoots what are apparently AVCHD format files, saved in a .mts stream. Now, I can import these into iMovie or Final Cut Pro, but I suspect that they are actually being converted, because when I save the clips (supposedly without further converting) from either program into quicktime movies, they are considerably bigger than the .mts streams.

So what formats should I be using here?

What is a good format for archiving these, for uploading stock, etc., etc.?
davidcrehner