| Author |
Message |
cpaulfell

Joined: 07 Dec 2011
Posts: 2399
|
|
martyhaas
Joined: 25 Apr 2007
Posts: 148
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:50 pm
| |
Sure looks sketchy. The website looks pathetic. The prices are unreasonably low. And a Google search on them turns up nothing but their website. You buy from them first! Then I'll consider it. |
|
dustine

Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 925
Location: You're in my viewfinder...
|
|
morillo marquee
Joined: 29 Jun 2012
Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:33 pm
| |
i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back |
|
dbvirago

Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 1628
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
|
Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:41 pm
| |
Identity of the owners is hidden behind domainsbyproxy.com.
Glad you had good luck, but too sketchy for me. |
|
cnapsys
Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
|
Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:39 pm
| |
| morillo marquee wrote: | i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back |
kinda odd, considering that they don't have any contact info on their site.
Not to mention the domain registration info ain't public either.
more so, seems a bit convenient that you joined SS today and your first post is to "reassure" all of us they are legit.
sniff sniff... guess what that smells like???
yup, you guessed it... troll
to the OP, rule of thumb, websites with no contact information, no phone number or any other way to get in touch with CS before you place an order > stay away.
I also guffawed a lil' when I saw that logo |
|
marcusvdt

Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 1191
Location: www.flashbackfoto.com.br or www.facebook.com/flashbackfoto
|
Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:22 pm
| |
| cnapsys wrote: | | morillo marquee wrote: | i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back |
kinda odd, considering that they don't have any contact info on their site.
Not to mention the domain registration info ain't public either.
more so, seems a bit convenient that you joined SS today and your first post is to "reassure" all of us they are legit.
sniff sniff... guess what that smells like???
yup, you guessed it... troll
to the OP, rule of thumb, websites with no contact information, no phone number or any other way to get in touch with CS before you place an order > stay away.
I also guffawed a lil' when I saw that logo | +1000 |
|
aynia

Joined: 18 Feb 2009
Posts: 2435
Location: The Land of the Vikings
|
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 2:55 am
| |
No contact name and address and domain details hidden spells no chance of any business from me.
And who is morillio marquee who has just joined SS.... no port and says lenscabin is great!??!!
Me I'm just a bit of a skeptic!!! :-) |
|
semmickphoto

Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 6465
Location: Stuck between a shutter and a hard place
|
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:03 am
| |
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1037&message=41769957
| Quote: | | BUYER BEWARE....... Lens cabin sold me a canon 600ex rt for the amazing price of $380 normally $599. But instead they sent me a Sigma 610 DG ST (anywhere for$165) will not issue refund. made me pay with a cashiers check. COD no other options supposedly availiable. will not answer phone calls from me anymore. has their website sources hidden. The creditcard scam is a different tactic don't get stolen from......also the same as lensclearance.com and Direct Marketing. Will ask for checks to made out to 360 Destination.... |
|
|
cnapsys
Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
|
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:33 am
| |
| Quote: |
And who is morillio marquee who has just joined SS.... no port and says lenscabin is great!??!!
|
I know, right aynia?
seems like this angel of wisdom that saw all of us folks confused and came down to shed some light...
pffft.
Ron, the poor sap on dpreview shoulda had a red flag when they asked him to pay with a cashiers check.
At least with a credit card, paypal you have protection and get your money back but with a cashier's check or money order you are doomed.
The problem is that although the consumers usually get their money back on cc transactions in most cases the banks won't.
And these fraudsters count on that. cause they're still making a profit.
And when or if they get shut down by their ISPs eventually, 2 days later something like lensclearence comes up and they start it all over again.
somethimes they run these in parallel to maximize ROI :) 1-2 get shut down 7 are still up
sigh |
|
| |
|