Welcome, Anonymous (Profile, Private Messages)
Having trouble signing into the forums? Please [ logout ] and log back in.
 Log inLog in 
SEARCH:     » Advanced Search

Shutterstock Photographer Forum Forum Index : Anything Goes. :
Lens Cabin

 
Post new topic    Reply to topic
Author Message
cpaulfell


Joined: 07 Dec 2011
Posts: 2430

Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:24 pm     Reply with quote

Has anyone used this store before?

http://www.lenscabin.com
martyhaas


Joined: 25 Apr 2007
Posts: 148

Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:50 pm     Reply with quote

Sure looks sketchy. The website looks pathetic. The prices are unreasonably low. And a Google search on them turns up nothing but their website. You buy from them first! Then I'll consider it.
dustine


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 925
Location: You're in my viewfinder...

Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:15 pm     Reply with quote

Check this out.... http://www.scamadviser.com/is-lenscabin.com-safe.html


Take my advice and https://www.pond5.com/sound-effect/8621588?pf_fullscreen=1
morillo marquee


Joined: 29 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

Post Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:33 pm     Reply with quote

i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back
dbvirago


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 1630
Location: Atlanta, Ga.

Post Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:41 pm     Reply with quote

Identity of the owners is hidden behind domainsbyproxy.com.
Glad you had good luck, but too sketchy for me.
cnapsys


Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago

Post Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:39 pm     Reply with quote

morillo marquee wrote:
i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back


kinda odd, considering that they don't have any contact info on their site.
Not to mention the domain registration info ain't public either.
more so, seems a bit convenient that you joined SS today and your first post is to "reassure" all of us they are legit.
sniff sniff... guess what that smells like???
yup, you guessed it... troll

to the OP, rule of thumb, websites with no contact information, no phone number or any other way to get in touch with CS before you place an order > stay away.

I also guffawed a lil' when I saw that logo
marcusvdt


Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 1201
Location: www.flashbackfoto.com.br or www.facebook.com/flashbackfoto

Post Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:22 pm     Reply with quote

cnapsys wrote:
morillo marquee wrote:
i just received my order from them
and then found this
but happy i didn't find this before i ordered it
because everything came as they said when they said and
ca not be more pleased with the assistance i received from the reps over there
ill be back


kinda odd, considering that they don't have any contact info on their site.
Not to mention the domain registration info ain't public either.
more so, seems a bit convenient that you joined SS today and your first post is to "reassure" all of us they are legit.
sniff sniff... guess what that smells like???
yup, you guessed it... troll

to the OP, rule of thumb, websites with no contact information, no phone number or any other way to get in touch with CS before you place an order > stay away.

I also guffawed a lil' when I saw that logo
+1000
aynia


Joined: 18 Feb 2009
Posts: 2435
Location: The Land of the Vikings

Post Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 2:55 am     Reply with quote

No contact name and address and domain details hidden spells no chance of any business from me.

And who is morillio marquee who has just joined SS.... no port and says lenscabin is great!??!!

Me I'm just a bit of a skeptic!!! :-)
semmickphoto


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 6494
Location: Stuck between a shutter and a hard place

Post Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:03 am     Reply with quote

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1037&message=41769957

Quote:
BUYER BEWARE....... Lens cabin sold me a canon 600ex rt for the amazing price of $380 normally $599. But instead they sent me a Sigma 610 DG ST (anywhere for$165) will not issue refund. made me pay with a cashiers check. COD no other options supposedly availiable. will not answer phone calls from me anymore. has their website sources hidden. The creditcard scam is a different tactic don't get stolen from......also the same as lensclearance.com and Direct Marketing. Will ask for checks to made out to 360 Destination....


Quote:
Its teh new name for an outfit called "Lens Clearance" ...
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Lens_Clearance
Abandon all hope ye who shop there....
cnapsys


Joined: 10 Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago

Post Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:33 am     Reply with quote

Quote:

And who is morillio marquee who has just joined SS.... no port and says lenscabin is great!??!!

I know, right aynia?

seems like this angel of wisdom that saw all of us folks confused and came down to shed some light...
pffft.

Ron, the poor sap on dpreview shoulda had a red flag when they asked him to pay with a cashiers check.
At least with a credit card, paypal you have protection and get your money back but with a cashier's check or money order you are doomed.

The problem is that although the consumers usually get their money back on cc transactions in most cases the banks won't.
And these fraudsters count on that. cause they're still making a profit.
And when or if they get shut down by their ISPs eventually, 2 days later something like lensclearence comes up and they start it all over again.
somethimes they run these in parallel to maximize ROI :) 1-2 get shut down 7 are still up
sigh
 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 


Shutterstock Forum for Contributors